One Breath at a Time

from by Elizabeth Hummel

  • Digital Track
    Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    It’s About Time was many years in the making. The songs span most of my songwriting career, from Aphrodite (1986) to Time and Experience (2014). There is a lot of love in this album! The songs cover a lot of ground, but carry a common theme of living life fully, engaging to the max in the blink of time we are here. I am grateful to my friends and fellow musicians who put their heart and brilliance into this recording with me. Here’s hoping this music will help you heal, grow, love, and experience your own life more fully.

    Includes unlimited streaming of It's About Time via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $15 USD or more 

    You own this  



Started writing this song in 2000, finished it in 2006. We only have so many breaths while we are alive, one of them will be our last. This song reminds me that each breath is precious, and that we are all part of the cycles of time and nature.


Do not leave your heart to harden
Throw your mind into the garden
Live your life without a pardon
One breath at a time
One breath

Gaze into the greening bower
Thorn and leaf and rosy flower
Rising sap and growing power
One breath at a time
One breath at a time

Day into day
Into moon into moon into moon
Into year into year
Into birth into birth
Into earth, into sea, into circles and spires
Into wind, into Death, into Time, into embers
Forgotten songs, bodies tuned to the sway
Of the notes and beats awakening
In slumbering days

Listening to what the trees are saying
Whispering tunes of ancestors
Singing songs of Universes
One breath at a time
One breath at a time


from It's About Time, released July 12, 2014
Elizabeth: guitar and vocs
Morgan Doctor: tabla and shaker
Robin Toye: percussion
Reva Wittenberg: vocs
John Nasan: guitar
Marilyn Pedersen: violin
Jon Green: stand-up bass
Brian Castillo: electric bass, engineering


all rights reserved